New real estate strategy

The starting point

In 2015, the bank Lombard Odier & Cie (LODH) launched the implementation of a new real estate strategy, i.e. the project to relocate all activities of the bank under one roof. After a pitch consultation, SPG Intercity obtained a consultancy mandate in order to determine the “commercial attractiveness” of the different properties of the bank. The purpose was to anticipate the strengths and weaknesses of these properties and also to anticipate a future disposal strategy.

The solution

In order to determine the “commercial attractiveness” of the portfolio, we implemented the following methodology:


The result

After this analysis of the portfolio, LODH took the decision to go forward with its strategy and launched the search of suitable plots of land, able to accommodate a minimum surface of 30’000 sqm. SPG Intercity has been mandated for this acquisition mandate and proceeded to the search and analysis of various relocation alternatives with the following tasks: collection of information, valuation, feasibility (building permit, timing, process), comparison of projects according to various factors such as price, access, timing, project efficiency, design etc. After a 12-month process, LODH acquired a plot of land in Bellevue, which will host all bank activities within next 4 years.

Finally and after the acquisition of the Bellevue site, LODH mandated SPG Intercity in order to sell the existing Lombard Odier portfolio consisting into 5 sites. The disposal strategy has been set up according to the initial portfolio analysis and the real market conditions at the time of the sales process. After a 5 month process, the entire portfolio has been sold to a Swiss institutional investor according a leaseback transaction.

The added value
In this entire process, SPG  Intercity brought its deep knowledge of the Geneva real estate market and its network in order to get market information and opportunities. This allows LODH to have many suitable relocation alternatives and therefore to have a good negotiating position. Furthermore, knowing in details the future conditions of the relocation allows to elaborate a tailor-made leaseback contract in line with the development project schedule.

TOP

Nouvelle stratégie immobilière

Le point de départ

En 2015, la banque Lombard Odier & Cie (LODH) a lancé la mise en œuvre d‘une nouvelle stratégie immobilière, à savoir le projet de relocalisation de toutes les activités de la banque sous un même toit. Après avoir remporté le pitch, SPG Intercity a obtenu un mandat de conseil afin de déterminer l‘“attractivité commerciale” des différentes propriétés de la banque. L‘objectif était d‘anticiper les forces et faiblesses de ces propriétés et d‘anticiper une stratégie de cession future.

La solution

Afin de déterminer l‘“attractivité commerciale“ du portefeuille, nous avons mis en œuvre la méthodologie suivante :


Le résultat

Après cette analyse du portefeuille, LODH a pris la décision d‘aller de l‘avant avec sa stratégie et a lancé la recherche de terrains appropriés, capables d‘accueillir une surface minimale de 30‘000 m2. SPG Intercity a été mandatée pour ce mandat d‘acquisition et a procédé à la recherche et à l‘analyse de diverses alternatives de relocalisation avec les tâches suivantes : collecte d‘informations, évaluation, faisabilité (permis de construire, calendrier, processus), comparaison des projets en fonction de divers facteurs tels que le prix, l‘accès, le calendrier, l‘efficacité du projet, la conception, etc. Après un processus de 12 mois, LODH a acquis un terrain à Bellevue, qui accueillera toutes les activités de la banque dans les 4 prochaines années.

Après l‘acquisition du site de Bellevue, LODH a mandaté SPG Intercity afin de vendre leur portefeuille existant composé de 5 sites. La stratégie de cession a été mise en place en fonction de l‘analyse initiale du portefeuille et des conditions réelles du marché au moment du processus de vente. Après un processus de 5 mois, l‘ensemble du portefeuille a été vendu à un investisseur institutionnel suisse dans le cadre d‘une transaction de cession-bail.

La valeur ajoutée

Lors de ce processus, SPG Intercity a apporté sa connaissance approfondie du marché immobilier genevois et de son réseau afin d‘obtenir des informations sur le marché et ses opportunités. Cela permet à LODH d‘avoir de nombreuses alternatives de relocalisation appropriées et donc d‘avoir une bonne position de négociation. De plus, connaître en détail les conditions futures de la relocalisation permet d‘élaborer un contrat de cession-bail sur mesure en accord avec le calendrier du projet de développement.

TOP