Optimisation of Hewlett Packard’s Real Estate situation: Sale & Leaseback / Development in Geneva

Starting point

In 2012 Hewlett Packard (HP) was looking for a service provider able to optimise its real estate situation in the industrial zone of Meyrin (Geneva). SPG Intercity Geneva obtained the consultancy and sales mandate through a pitch competition.

The challenge was to combine the sale of the existing site, which in terms of size and layout no longer corresponded to the needs of HP and the future development of the new EMEA Headquarters on the same plot of land. The final strategy was to achieve a maximum value through two distinct operations. The first consisted in finding an investor willing to take over the land lease and the existing building (9’000 sqm) through a short period sale and leaseback transaction. It was finally HIAG Immobilien, a significant Swiss developer of industrial sites, who acquired the current building and the new defined perimeter.

The search for the ideal partner

The second phase of the collaboration (2014-2015) consisted of finding a developer-investor capable of meeting the following three main criteria of the transaction:

-
Capacity to renegotiate the existing land lease conditions in place between HP and the FTI (Fondation des terrains industriels)

- Ensure the delivery of the new tailor made building for HP by the end of 2016

- Establishment of a long term lease at market conditions

And the winner is…

As the situation was considerably complex, finally only 3 developer offers stood out. Once again the proposal of HIAG Immobilien was the most convincing as the introduced project was not only modern and efficient but also met the very tight time line. Therefore HIAG is now the owner in charge of the construction project which will be home to the HP EMEA Headquarters.

It is with satisfaction that SPG Intercity looks back on the collaboration with HP on the second phase. It was a project full of challenges as within two years the real estate market considerably changed for these types of transactions. The sales project management required a lot of reactivity in adapting the initial strategy to respond to the fluctuation of HP’s space requirements and the instable market fluctuation and meeting the IT company’s requirements.

TOP

Vente et cession de bail pour Hewlett Packard

Point de départ

En 2012 Hewlett Packard (HP) était à la recherche d’un prestataire de service capable d’optimiser sa situation immobilière dans la zone industrielle de Meyrin (Genève). SPG Intercity Genève a obtenu le mandat de vente et conseil suite à un pitch réussi. Le challenge était de combiner la vente du site existant, qui, en termes de taille et de disposition ne correspondait plus aux besoins de HP et le futur développement du nouveau siège de l’entreprise EMEA sur la même parcelle de terrain. La stratégie finale était de parvenir à réaliser une valeur maximale à travers deux opérations distinctes. La première consistait à trouver un investisseur disposé à reprendre le bail immobilier et le bâtiment existant (9‘000 sqm) en une courte période de vente et transaction de cession-bail. C’est finalement HIAG Immobilien, un important développeur de sites industriels qui a acquis le bâtiment actuel et le nouveau périmètre défini.

La recherche du partenaire idéal

La seconde phase de la collaboration (2014/2015) consistait en la recherche d’un investisseur-développeur regroupant les 3 principaux critères de transaction suivants :

Et le gagnant est…

Au vu de la situation considérablement complexe, ce ne sont finalement que 3 offres de développeurs qui en sont ressorties. Une fois de plus, la proposition de HIAG immobilien fut la plus convaincante étant donné que le projet lancé était non seulement moderne et efficace mais respectait également l’échéance très serrée du calendrier.

Par conséquent HIAG est à présent le détenteur en charge de la construction du projet qui fera office de siège social de HP EMEA. C’est avec satisfaction que SPG Intercity fait ce retour sur la collaboration avec HP pour la seconde phase. C‘était un projet rempli de challenges en prenant durant lequel en l‘espace de deux années le marché de l‘immobilier a considérablement changé pour ces types de transactions. Le management du projet de ventes a recquis beaucoup de réactivité dans l‘adaptation de la stratégie initiale pour répondre aux fluctuations des éxigences d‘espace de HP, à l‘instabilité de la fluctuation du marché et satisfaire les éxigences de IT.

TOP